Skip to main content View Site Map

Faculty & Staff

Department of Physics and Astronomy Directory

Chair

David Lederman
david.lederman@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 111D
304-293-5136

Faculty

Wathiq Abdul-Razzaq
wabdulra@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 305
304-293-5045

Loren Anderson
loren.anderson@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G63
304-293-1472

Alan Barnes
alan.barnes@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 233
304-296-9925

Siegfried Bleher
siegfried.bleher@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 231
304-293-4887

Alan D. Bristow
alan.bristow@mail…
White Hall, Room 439
304-293-5193

Pavel Borisov
pavel.borisov@mail…
White Hall, Room 429
304-293-4270

Paul Cassak
Paul.Cassak@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 333
304-293-5102

Cheng Cen
Cheng.Cen@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 441
304-293-4730

Vladimir Demidov
vladimir.demidov@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 205
304-293-4920

Edward Flagg
ebflagg@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 235
304-293-7411

Yuri Glinka
yuri.glinka@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 427
304-293-3075

Leonardo Golubovic
lgolubov@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 435
304-293-5195

Larry Halliburton
lhallibu@mail…
Ermeritus
White Hall, Room 431
304-293-5197

Mikel Holcomb
mikel.holcomb@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 437
304-293-5196

Amy Keesee
amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 339
304-293-5113

Mark Koepke
mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 203
304-293-4912

David Lederman
david.lederman@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 403
304-293-5136

James P Lewis
james.lewis@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 405
304-293-5141

Duncan Lorimer
duncan.lorimer@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G61
304-293-4867

Brian Marsteller
Brian.Marsteller@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 427
304-296-9946

Maura McLaughlin
maura.mclaughlin@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G59
304-293-4812

Sean McWilliams
sean.mcwilliams@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G58
304-293-3076

Paul M. Miller
paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 209
304-293-4939

D.J. Pisano
djpisano@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G65
304-293-4886

Christopher Purcell
christopher.purcell@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 239
304-293-5017

Aldo Romero
Aldo.Romero@mail.wvu.edu
Associate Professor
White Hall, Room 207
304-293-6317

Felix Julian Schulze
felixjulian.schulze@mail.wvu.edu
Assistant Professor
White Hall, Room 241
304-293-5297

Earl Scime
escime@wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 341
304-293-5125

Mohindar Seehra
mseehra@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 307
304-293-5098

Tudor Stanescu
tudor.stanescu@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 433
304-293-5194

Gay Stewart
gay.stewart@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 303
304-293-5032

Richard Treat
Emeritus
rtreat@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 237
304-293-4971

Dimitris Vassiliadis
dimitris.vassiliadis@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 205
304-293-4920

Art Weldon
hweldon@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 335
304-293-5106

Staff

Viola Bryant (Administrative Assistant)
vmbryant@mail.wvu.edu
Room 111C
304-293-4888

Vanessa Baker (Accounting Clerk)
vanessa.baker@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 111F
304-293-4908

Nate Garver-Daniels (Systems Administrator)
nathaniel.garver-daniels@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G64
304-296-9919

Harley Hart (Shared Facilities Technician)
harley.hart@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 407
304-296-9943, Cell: 412-442-1514

John Hopkins (Laboratory Manager / Planetarium Contact)
jghopkins@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 223
304-293-4961

Megan Moore (PIRE Admin. Asst.)
megan.moore@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G64
304-296-9919

Doug Mathess (Senior Instrument Specialist, Machine and Welding Shop)
cmathess@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G19
302-293-4732

Greg Puskar (Academic Laboratory Manager)
gpuskar@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 111G
304-293-4909

Sherry Puskar (Administrative Secretary)
spuskar@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 111
304-293-4887

JR Raber (Senior Instrument Specialist)
william.raber@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G19
304-293-4732

Vicki Snively (Grant Administrator)
Vicki.Snively@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room 221
304-293-4950

Phil Tucker (Senior Instrument Specialist)
ptucker@mail.wvu.edu
White Hall, Room G12
Cell: 304-276-1160

Carl Weber II (Supervising Instrument Specialist)
cweber2@wvu.edu,
White Hall, Room G19
304-293-4732

WiSE Women Feature

WiSE Women

The WiSE Giving Circle brings together West Virginia University alumnae and friends who want to impact the field of science by encouraging and mentoring young women in their pursuit of professional careers within the STEM disciplines – science, technology, engineering, and math.

Learn more about WiSE

Cooper Lecture Feature

Life and Death of Comets

With more awareness of comets and asteroids coming close to the Earth and even entering our atmosphere, it is crucial that we understand the life and death of these celestial bodies. Harvard-Smithsonian Professor John Raymond describes the way Sun-grazing comets come to an end. In particular, he gives us an account of the death of the Lovejoy comet that took place in December 2011 and how it was used to better understand the Sun’s corona.

Read More About the Lecture

Mysterious Radio Bursts, Sent From Deep Space

Reporting in Science, researchers including WVU physics post-docs Sam Bates and Lina Levin write of discovering four radio bursts from outer space. WVU professors Duncan Lorimer and Maura McLaughlin were on the team that detected the first such explosion in 2007. On NPR’s Science Friday, Dr. Lorimer discusses what could be causing these radio signals, such as evaporating black holes, an idea proposed by Stephen Hawking in the 1970s.

Listen to Science Friday Episode