Department News

Weichao Tu named 2022-23 Benedum Distinguished Scholar

Three exceptional faculty members at WVU have been named 2022-23 Benedum Distinguished Scholars in recognition of the high caliber of their research and scholarly activity. 

WVU recognizes Paul Miller among the 2023 Foundation Outstanding Teaching Awards

Each spring, West Virginia University recognizes selected faculty members for their exceptional and innovative teaching. This year, the 2023 WVU Foundation Awards for Outstanding Teaching honor three faculty members:

WVU physicists give the first law of thermodynamics a makeover

West Virginia University physicists have made a breakthrough on an age-old limitation of the first law of thermodynamics.

WVU Department of Physics and Astronomy remembers professor emeritus Golubovic

Prof. Leonardo "Leo" Golubovic, who served as a professor of Physics at West Virginia University beginning in 1992, passed away on June 25, 2022.

NASA-funded physics research at WVU aims to create new stars among local teachers and HBCU students

West Virginia University physicists are helping NASA measure light from distant stars and involving local high school science teachers in the process.

WVU to play a role in the next NASA ‘Living With a Star’ mission


The spacecraft constellation will make the first global measurements of the coupling between the magnetosphere and the Earth’s upper atmosphere. The results will help detect and predict extreme conditions in space that can impact society and future exploration.

WVU Department of Physics and Astronomy students swept the competition in the annual Integration Bee

WVU Physics and Astronomy students, Jacob Huggins and Zhi Gu Li, placed first and second place in the annual Integration Bee, held on April 6, 2022. 

WVU Physics Alumnus Scott Cushing named a 2022 Cottrell Scholar

Scott Cushing, assistant professor of chemistry at Caltech has been named a 2022 Cottrell Scholar by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement (RCSA).